What a wonderful week

Dear reader, I shall warn you in advance, this post is about the week I spent with my family while on holiday from work. It will therefore be a gushing account of how much I love them and being with them, however I make no apologies for this, I’m merely offering a warning for anyone who may choose to stop reading now.

Booking last week off work meant that I had a full nine days to enjoy with my little man and his mum. It was quite easily the longest spell we’ve had together since I returned to work after paternity leave, and it was incredible.

I know that everyone says that their kids grow up too fast, I realise that it must feel the same for every parent, but it wasn’t until I got to spend a huge amount of time with my little boy (I’m usually out of the house for about 12 hours a day during the week) that it became apparent just how much he is developing.

And what an action-packed week it’s been.

Alfie’s Nanna was here for the first part of our holiday – as well as his Auntie, so we took ourselves off to the Titanic Museum in Belfast to check out their exhibition Brick City. It’s a collection of landmarks from around the world – made in Lego – and it’s pretty cool.

photo-40

When the extended family had left, it was time for Mummy, Daddy and Alfie to enjoy themselves, and enjoy ourselves we did. We had a week of visiting the seaside, swimming, playing, laughing and just enjoying each other’s company.

Coolest guy I know...

Coolest guy I know…

It’s as much about the little things as it is the big. We took the little man to a baby disco on Saturday afternoon – and he loved it. Not only was he entranced by the light show and bubble machine, but he had a solid surface to attempt bum-shuffling on, and bum shuffle he did. His mum and I both blinked back a tear as he set off across the floor, and though the music could have been a little better in my eyes, we had a fantastic time and are already looking forward to the next one.

What a guy.

What a guy.

It would take too long to talk about everything else that we did, it was such a fun-filled week – but trips to Bangor, Newcastle and… Ikea… were all good fun and had me really dreading coming back to work and missing out on my personal time with the little man. Going to his baby sensory class, too, was a treat for me. They were having a Father’s Day special, with daddies encouraged to come along – and although it was just another class for Alfie and his mum, it was great for me to be a part of these things that they do each week.

Playing in the playground!

Playing in the playground!

Playing with Mummy :)

Playing with Mummy πŸ™‚

Driving the digger

Driving the digger

Loving it in Newcastle

Loving it in Newcastle

Fun with the boats at Bangor

Fun with the boats at Bangor

We also went swimming as a family for the first time. Usually, Alfie’s mum takes him along to his swimming lesson on a Saturday morning, and although I’m happy that it’s ‘their thing’ – I’ve always been a bit jealous that she gets to enjoy it with him, so it was a real treat for me to be able to take him in the water. He’s already a real tadpole and loves to kick his legs and splash around (more to come on Water Babies soon).

I absolutely adored being at home with my family. I’ve just been to the shop to buy a Lottery ticket in the hope that I can win enough to spend all of my time with them, but know that, for now at least, work’s a must, however heartbreaking it might be to have to leave him at home everyday.

Like father, like son...

Like father, like son…

As I was on my way to bed last night, I got side-tracked and found myself kneeling next to his cot, just holding his hand watching him sleep. I was in something of a daze and must have been there for a good five or ten minutes. I just can’t help myself. I’m still amazed, seven months down the line, that I could be a part of creating something so wonderful, and it never stops. The older he gets, the more his personality is developing, and people regularly tell us that he’s the happiest little boy they know – so surely we must be doing something right?

All these adventures are tiring...

All these adventures are tiring…

I miss them every minute of every day that I’m not there. Roll on my next week off work.

