We’re getting football fever

The wait is almost over, it’s just a week until the World Cup kicks off in Brazil.

To be honest, in the last couple of years, I’ve adopted something of a ‘I can take it or leave it’ approach to football (I used to follow Barnsley across the country and would rarely miss a game on Sky) and have become a huge rugby fan – mainly owing to my former home town in France being rugby obsessed.

However – despite multiple attempts, my little boy seems to hate the game when it’s on television. Whenever we settle down to watch a match, he’ll either fall asleep or get upset, every single time.

Admittedly, that doesn’t sound extraordinary for a 7-month-old baby, and I would readily admit that it isn’t I it wasn’t for the fact that he loves football.

Still men running about on a field, still the same crowd noises, whistling and such, but he’s obsessed by it and will break off from whatever he’s doing if there’s football on the TV. Whether we are halfway through enjoying his favourite book or mid feeding, as soon as he realises football is on, he’s away. He even once ignored his mum when she was enjoying opening parcels with him just to look at the tables on Sky Sports News, and as unbelievable as that sounds, it happened.

Now, with the greatest football tournament on Earth just around the corner, I’m looking forward to us having some real bonding time and maybe – just maybe – seeing a little of the games together (the time difference with Brazil means he won’t have the opportunity to see much).

It may be cruel to subject him to the abject misery that usually accompanies England in major tournaments at such a young age, but we’ve all got to go through it at some point, so he may as well start early.

IMG_1545

We’ve been collecting Panini stickers in the run up to the tournament* – and we are just about ready to embrace the tournament next week. It may seem silly, and I realise that he’s going to have a hugely limited understanding of what’s going on, but I’m looking forward to enjoying some father-son bonding over the game that we both love.

I don’t want him to be too crushed by the disappointment of England’s failures, so we are hedging our bets and he’s also got a Brazil t-shirt, you know, just in case.

Three Lions on my shirt… And all that.

Come on England!

*disclaimer – The sticker collecting has always been about him – and the lasting memento of a full book for his first World Cup. I may or may not have enjoyed it a lot and it may or may not have reminded me a lot about collecting football stickers in my youth. I am, unfortunately, un available for comment and therefore these questions will have to remain unanswered.

