Adventures with food – and a moment of pure terror

It’s hard to believe that my little man was six months old yesterday. I’m in that strange situation where it feels like only minutes since he arrived, yet I can’t really remember (not that I would want to) life without him.

As he continues to grow, and the occasional growth spurt sees him drinking milk like I used to drink beer, my partner and I realised it was time to move onto some proper foods.

She has done a lot of research on baby-led weaning, and after reading up on it myself, I was more than happy to go down that route.

I’m glad we did.

Seeing my little man holding on to a quarter of banana and gumming it into his mouth fills me with real pride. He’s only been having solids for a few days, but he’s already figured out how to get the exact amount into his mouth, as well as his unique take on chewing (no teeth as of yet) – and that, if he doesn’t want anymore – that he can just throw it on the floor and it won’t bother him anymore.

IMG_0119

However, as many people will know, baby-led weaning has its risks. Giving a six-month old baby solid foods with which to help himself presents many possible problems.

After a few days of banana, we decided to try him on some carrot – cooked for long enough for it to be nice and squishy.

He’s not as big a fan of carrot as he is banana, that’s become quickly apparent, however he still munched down a fair amount. Until, after what wasn’t in anyway a particularly huge bite, his face began to turn red and he seemed to be choking. His eyes opened wide as he struggled with the lump of vegetable, and he got even redder.

I can’t lie. My heart has never beat to quickly in all of my life. I was overwhelmed with panic. Thankfully, his mum put a reassuring hand on his back and after a couple of seconds a piece of carrot came flying out of his mouth.

It took me more than a couple of seconds to calm down. It took me about half an hour.

But these are the kinds of things that I need to learn to deal with better. I’m ever so proud of him that he’s picked up eating properly so quickly – and this was just the smallest of blips in our latest adventure.

I can’t wait to see what comes next.

IMG_0120

